.d-md-none .d-lg-block bibimot

ATS-59: from storage - to the "citizen"

ATS-59: from storage - to the "citizen"
The Kurgan plant, which specialized in the production of heavy cranes, in 1954 was reoriented to the production of tractors for transporting guns. The KMZ employees had no experience in such a matter, so at first they were helped by specialists from the Chelyabinsk Tractor Plant. As a result, the first model of a caterpillar tractor turned out to be successful. Further, the Kurgan enterprise managed on its own, having manufactured its first ATS-59 all-terrain vehicle, which had the factory index "650".


From prototypes to series


The first samples were tested in 1958. After their completion, the military began to test the car. They liked the tractor and adopted it. However, there were still some refinements, and the first batch of serial cars left the assembly line only in 1961.

АТС-59: с хранения – на «гражданку»The military took the tractor well. Photo: YouTube.com

A year later, the plant produced 120 cars per month. Along the way, modifications of the all-terrain vehicle were made:

✅ cable and rail tracker
✅ bulldozer
✅ crane

All of the above "specialties" were useful in the future "civilian life" of the car.

Modernization


By the standards of that time, the tractor was quite suitable for the army in terms of technical characteristics. The only negative - an uncomfortable and cramped cabin, was eliminated in 1969 with the release of an improved version of the ATS-59G. Later, the Kurgan plant was redesigned for the production of BMP-1, and therefore all production was transferred to one of the Warsaw Pact countries - Poland. Soon, the Soviet army began to be reduced and the all-terrain vehicle began to be actively transferred to peaceful organizations.

Civilians were given all-terrain vehicles from storage, almost new. Photo: YouTube.com

Basically, the tractor was needed for use in difficult areas of the USSR. And then (and still today) they were enough. The car came to the place of geologists, oil and gas workers. It was also used to deliver goods to remote settlements where there were no roads.

Technical features


The cab is installed in front, and the power unit is almost in the middle, behind is a cargo platform. The suspension is independent, torsion bar, on each side there are five main rollers. In front of the all-terrain vehicle there is a power mechanism, in the body of which there are a gearbox, main gear, turning devices, brakes.

Management is simple and clear. Photo: YouTube.com

Behind the stern there is a winch. Main technical characteristics:

✅ length, width, height - 6,28, 2,78, 2,3 m
✅ own weight and load capacity - 13 and 3 tons
✅ ground clearance - 42,5 cm
✅ power unit - 12-cylinder diesel A-650 in 38,88 liters, developing 300 hp. With.
✅ speed - up to 39 km / h

The machine is able to overcome a ford up to 1,1 m deep, a ditch 1,35 m wide, and also climb slopes of 35 ° with a roll of up to 25 °. In Poland, a W650G engine was installed on the tractor with almost the same parameters as the Russian one. The engine comes with a five-speed manual transmission.

Exploitation


The reliability of Soviet technology is well known: ATS-59 can still be purchased today in good condition. But it’s worth “slowing down” at such a sad moment as consumption: not only fuel, but also oil. For 100 km, this "machine" consumes from 152 to 163 liters of diesel fuel. But that's not all! The internal combustion engine will also need oil - if it is serviceable, about 13 l / 100 km.

Details of the launch of ATS-59


The tractor used Soviet "know-how". For example, you can start the engine in two ways: with an electric starter or a pneumatic starter. The latter is a cylinder with compressed air and a valve. If the battery runs out, the starter can be spun with a stream from the “receiver”. If it's cold, there is a starting heater. When working, he makes noise and roar, accompanying this with a flame from the nozzle, like a dragon. Surely the neighbors will not miss such a “show”, even if you want to leave at night.

A swamp or a forest is its own element for ATS-59. Photo: YouTube.com

But it is easy to control the all-terrain vehicle: a pair of levers and three pedals are used, so familiar to motorists. After a short practice, the turning radius will be only 3,5 m. So if you are an avid hunter or fisherman and have no problems with cheap diesel fuel, such a machine will do just fine with oil. It is curious: there are advertisements for the sale of new spare parts for ATS-59. For the all-terrain vehicle itself (they offer cars from storage with a mileage of 200 km or more), they ask from 500 thousand rubles. up to a million.

Author:

Photos used: https://youtube.com

What do you think about ATS-59?

We vote!

We are We are in Yandex Zen
Dnepr Vintage - a farewell batch of heavy motorcycles from Soviet spare partsMAZ-537: one of the few tractors of the national economy

"RAF-04" - the first Soviet motorhome

"RAF-04" - the first Soviet motorhome

The first dacha trailers began to be made in Riga: the novelty had little comfort, but it was the ultimate dream of most citizens. What was the "RAF-04"? ...
  • 2 425
China's first supercar enters production line

China's first supercar enters production line

It became known about the launch of mass production of the first, 100% localized supercar No. 1 in China. The main characteristics and price are disclosed in our material....
  • 947
Pivot: will it or not?

Pivot: will it or not?

Auto designers wanted to completely abandon kingpins decades ago. However, this detail is quite successfully used today. What's so special about her...
  • 924

.d-md-none .d-lg-block bibimot

АТС-59: с хранения – на «гражданку»

АТС-59: с хранения – на «гражданку»
Курганский завод, специализировавшийся на производстве тяжелых кранов, в 1954-м году был переориентирован на выпуск тягачей для транспортировки орудий. У сотрудников КМЗ опыта в подобном деле не было, поэтому им помогали на первых порах специалисты Челябинского тракторного. В итоге первая модель гусеничного тягача получилась удачной. Далее курганское предприятие справлялось уже самостоятельно, изготовив свой первый вездеход АТС-59, имевший заводской индекс «650».


От опытных экземпляров – к серии


Первые образцы проходили испытания в 1958 году. После их завершения машину начали тестировать военные. Тягач им понравился и его приняли на вооружение. Однако некоторые доводки все же были, и первая партия серийных машин сошла с конвейера только в 1961-м.

АТС-59: с хранения – на «гражданку»Военные хорошо приняли тягач. Фото: YouTube.com

Уже через год завод выпускал по 120 машин в месяц. Попутно производили модификации вездехода:

✅ укладчик кабеля и ж/д рельсов
✅ бульдозер
✅ подъемный кран

Все перечисленные выше «специальности» пригодились в будущей «гражданской жизни» машины.

Модернизация


По меркам того времени тягач вполне устраивал армию в плане технических характеристик. Единственный минус – неудобная и тесная кабина, был ликвидирован в 1969-м при выпуске усовершенствованной версии АТС-59Г. Позже Курганский завод перепрофилировали под выпуск БМП-1 и поэтому все производство передали в одну из стран Варшавского договора – Польшу. Вскоре советскую армию стали сокращать и вездеход начали активно передаваться мирным организациям.

Гражданским передавали вездеходы с хранения, практически новые. Фото: YouTube.com

В основном тягач был нужен для использования в труднопроходимых районах СССР. А их тогда (да и сегодня) хватало. Машина пришлась к месту геологам, нефтяникам и газовикам. Также использовалась для доставки грузов в отдаленные населенные пункты, куда не было автомобильных дорог.

Технические особенности


Кабина установлена спереди, а силовой агрегат – почти посередине, сзади – грузовая платформа. Подвеска независимая, торсионная, на каждом борту – по пять основных катков. В передней части вездехода размещен силовой механизм, в корпусе которого находятся КПП, главная передача, устройства поворота, тормоза.

Управление простое и понятное. Фото: YouTube.com

За кормой имеется лебедка. Основные технические характеристики:

✅ длина, ширина, высота – 6,28, 2,78, 2,3 м
✅ собственный вес и грузоподъемность – 13 и 3 т
✅ дорожный просвет – 42,5 см
✅ силовой агрегат – 12-цилиндровый дизель А-650 в 38,88 л, развивающий 300 л. с.
✅ скорость – до 39 км/ч

Машина способна преодолевать брод глубиной до 1,1 м, ров шириной 1,35 м, а также подниматься на уклоны в 35° с креном до 25°. В Польше на тягач устанавливали двигатель W650G с практически такими же параметрами, что и у российского. В комплекте с мотором идет пятиступенчатая МКПП.

Эксплуатация


Надежность советской техники общеизвестна: АТС-59 можно приобрести и сегодня в нормальном состоянии. Но стоит «тормознуть» на таком невеселом моменте, как расход: не только топлива, но и масла. На 100 км эта «машинка» потребляет от 152 до 163 л солярки. Но это не все! ДВС понадобится еще и масло – если он исправен, примерно 13 л/100 км.

Подробности запуска АТС-59


В тягаче применены советские «ноу-хау». Например, завести движок можно двумя способами: с электрического стартера или пневматическим пускателем. Последний представляет собой баллон со сжатым воздухом и вентилем. Если сядет аккумулятор, стартер можно раскрутить потоком из «ресивера». Если мороз – имеется пусковой подогреватель. При работе он издает шум и грохот, сопровождая это пламенем из сопла, как у дракона. Наверняка соседи не пропустят такое «шоу», даже если вы захотите уехать ночью.

Болото или лес – своя стихия для АТС-59. Фото: YouTube.com

Зато управлять вездеходом легко: используется пара рычагов и три педали, столь привычные автомобилистам. После непродолжительной тренировки радиус поворота составит всего 3,5 м. Так что если вы заядлый охотник или рыбак и у нет проблем с дешевым дизельным топливом, маслом такая машина подойдет вполне. Любопытно: попадаются объявления о продаже к АТС-59 новых запчастей. За сам вездеход (предлагают машины с хранения с пробегом от 200 км) просят от 500 тыс. руб. до миллиона.

Автор:

Использованы фотографии: https://youtube.com

А вы что думаете об АТС-59?

Голосуем!

Мы в Мы в Яндекс Дзен
Днепр Винтаж – прощальная партия тяжелых мотоциклов из советских запчастейМАЗ-537: один из немногих тягачей народного хозяйства

Корея против Китая – трудности автовыбора

Корея против Китая – трудности автовыбора

Когда-то корейские автомобили считались «бюджетным» вариантом японских. Но сегодня на рынок уверенно вышел новый игрок – КНР. И, соответственно, встает вопрос:...
  • 418